Sustainable solutions that work. Worldwide.

Designated regional expertise, high-level professional competence and field-proven management skills form the backbone of the comprehensive range of services of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.

giz4-nrwAs a German federal enterprise, we offer our clients sustainable and effective solutions for political, economic and social transformation processes – in more than 130 countries.

In Germany, we combine the interests of German stakeholders with those of international partners, including actors from emerging and industrialised countries. Our clients are governments of other countries, German federal and state ministries, civil society organizations, universities and business companies.

The German state of North Rhine-Westphalia is one of the twenty largest economies in the world and one of the most important regions for science, industry and innovation across Europe. For many years, we have been successfully building bridges for our clients – from the metropolitan in Germany region to all parts of the world. Our partners can therefore benefit from the know-how of the state of NRW, for example, in the areas of energy, structural change and environmental protection.

Our Services

giz-15With our many years of experience and our partners around the world, we help our clients to successfully implement their sustainability projects and international collaborations. Our expertise is as diverse as the needs of our clients: from vocational training through issues of environment and energy, up to urban development and sustainable business.

Our Services in Detail:

Establishment of international networks

Whether it’s politics, economics or science – we bring our clients in direct contact with our partners worldwide in order to forge strong alliances and meet global challenges.

Access to new markets

The step into foreign markets carries risks. With our contacts and experience, as well as with tailored consulting packages, such as the sustainable design of global supply chains, we open the door for our clients, and provide guidance and support.

Development of new funding opportunities

Together with our clients we develop projects eligible for third-party funding, for instance, by the European Union. We contribute our wide range of expertise and our experience in the management of complex large-scale projects and in the collaboration with numerous international stakeholders.

Tailor-made capacity-building in NRW

We provide hands-on training for the challenges of tomorrow. We cooperate closely with established educational partners in NRW so that our clients can benefit from the diverse experience and strengths of the German state.

Access to innovation and international know-how

Innovation requires knowledge. We enable our clients to exchange their experience across borders. Working with our new formats and platforms allows them to share knowledge and expertise internationally and make it all accessible.

Our References in NRW

International Cooperation with NRW: climate and resource protection in Ghana

We support the efforts of NRW to achieve the aims of its One-World-Strategy. In NRW’s partner country Ghana, we advise the University of Kumasi in establishing a competence center for climate and resource protection. Part of this is a technical cooperation with Universities in NRW which covering the topics renewable energy, energy efficiency, and resource and waste management. Additionally, we organize the presentation of NRW at the leading environmental and energy exhibition of West Africa “WACEE”.

Sustainable Economic Cooperation: AFRIKA KOMMT! – Africa is coming!

We coordinate the training program “AFRIKA KOMMT!” on behalf of 19 leading German large-scale enterprises. For one year, the companies involved offer young African managers the opportunity to gain practical insight into their work processes and management methods. At the same time, the companies open up important links to the emerging markets of Africa. After their participation in “AFRIKA KOMMT!”, the young executives may benefit from cooperation opportunities arising with partner companies in their home countries.

Promotion of Economic Relations and Business Exchange: NRW and China

For 30 years, we have brought together companies from NRW and China on behalf of the federal North-Rhine-Westphalian government and of Chinese provincial governments. The exchange is accompanied, among other things, by study tours for specialists and delegation visits of high-ranking decision-makers from both countries. Through our extensive alumni work the participants remain in contact with the partners and establish long-term cooperation networks.

Capacity-building market Germany: “Becas Chile”

On behalf of the Chilean Ministry of Education, we carry out the program called “Becas Chile”. The aim of the program is to promote the competitiveness of the economy and vocational education in Chile. For one year Chilean professionals are trained in the dual vocational system in German educational institutions and companies. The focus is on Chile’s future branches, i.e. mining, renewable energy, information technology and tourism. German partner companies, for their part, establish valuable contacts in the South American country.

Download Brochure and Flyer

Brochure: WACEE – West African Clean Energy & Environment Exhibition & Conference
Opportunities for Sustainable Economic Development
Ghana and Nordrhein-Westfalen: Partners for Sustainability
Flyer: Die GIZ in NRW ( in german)
Gesellschaft bewegen. Zukunft gestalten. Für, mit und in NRW.

Nachhaltige Lösungen, die wirken. Weltweit.

Eine ausgewiesene Regionalexpertise, hohe Fachkompetenz und praxiserprobtes Managementwissen bilden das Rückgrat des umfassenden Leistungsangebots der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.

giz4-nrwAls deutsches Bundesunternehmen bieten wir unseren Auftraggebern nachhaltige und wirksame Lösungen für politische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Veränderungsprozesse – in mehr als 130 Ländern.

In Deutschland verbinden wir die Interessen hiesiger Akteure mit denen internationaler Partner, auch aus Schwellen- und Industrieländern. Zu unseren Kunden zählen Regierungen anderer Länder, deutsche Bundes- und Landesministerien, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen, Universitäten und Wirtschaftsunternehmen.

Nordrhein-Westfalen zählt zu den zwanzig größten Volkswirtschaften der Welt und ist einer der wichtigsten Standorte für Wissenschaft, Industrie und Innovation in ganz Europa. Seit vielen Jahren schlägt die GIZ für unsere Auftraggeber Brücken – aus der nordrhein-westfälischen Metropolregion in die ganze Welt. So profitieren unsere Partner im Ausland beispielsweise vom Know-how des Landes NRW in den Bereichen Energie, Strukturwandel und Umweltschutz.

Unsere Leistungen

giz-15Mit unserer langjährigen Erfahrung und gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern auf der ganzen Welt unterstützen wir unsere Auftraggeber dabei, ihre Nachhaltigkeitsprojekte und internationalen Kooperationen erfolgreich umzusetzen. Unsere Expertise ist so breit gefächert wie die fachlichen Anforderungen unserer Auftraggeber: von Berufsbildung und Fachkräfteintegration über Umwelt und Energie bis hin zu Stadtentwicklung und nachhaltigem Wirtschaften.

Unser Leistungsangebot umfasst im Einzelnen:

Aufbau internationaler Netzwerke

Ob Politik, Wirtschaft oder Wissenschaft – wir bringen unsere Auftraggeber in Kontakt mit unseren Partnern weltweit, um starke Allianzen für globale Herausforderungen zu schmieden.

Zugang zu neuen Märkten

Der Schritt in ausländische Märkte birgt Risiken. Wir öffnen unseren Auftraggebern die Tür und stehen ihnen zur Seite – mit unseren Kontakten und Erfahrungen sowie mit maßgeschneiderten Beratungspaketen, beispielsweise zur nachhaltigen Gestaltung globaler Lieferketten.

Erschließen neuer Fördermöglichkeiten

Gemeinsam mit unseren Auftraggebern entwickeln wir Projekte, die mit Drittmitteln gefördert werden können, etwa von der Europäischen Union. Dabei bringen wir neben unserer Fachexpertise auch langjährige Erfahrung in der Steuerung komplexer Großprojekte und in der Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen internationalen Akteuren mit ein.

Maßgeschneiderte Weiterbildungen in NRW

Wir bieten praxisorientierte Fortbildungen für die Herausforderungen von morgen. Dabei kooperieren wir eng mit bewährten Bildungspartnern in NRW, damit unsere Auftraggeber von den vielfältigen Erfahrungen und Stärken des Landes profitieren können.

Zugang zu Innovationen und internationalem Know-how

Innovationen brauchen Wissen. Wir ermöglichen unseren Auftraggebern den Erfahrungsaustausch über Grenzen hinweg. Dafür arbeiten wir mit neuen Formaten und Plattformen, um Wissen und Kompetenzen grenzüberschreitend zu teilen und zugänglich zu machen.

Unsere Referenzen in NRW

Internationale Zusammenarbeit mit NRW: Klima- und Ressourcenschutz in Ghana

Wir unterstützen NRW dabei, seine Eine-Welt-Strategie umzusetzen. So beraten wir im Partnerland Ghana die Universität KNUST in Kumasi beim Aufbau eines Kompetenzzentrums für Klima-und Ressourcenschutz. Themenschwerpunkte einer Fachkooperation mit Hochschulen in NRW sind zudem erneuerbare Energien, Energieeffizienz, Ressourcen-­ und Abfallmanagement. Flankierend organisieren wir die Präsentation NRWs auf der führenden Umwelt- und Energiemesse Westafrikas „WACEE“.

Nachhaltige Wirtschaftskooperation: AFRIKA KOMMT!

Wir koordinieren das Managerfortbildungsprogramm „AFRIKA KOMMT!“ im Auftrag führender deutscher Großunternehmen, die afrikanischen Nachwuchsführungskräften ein Jahr lang Einblicke in ihre Arbeitsprozesse und Managementmethoden ermöglichen. Zugleich eröffnen sich den Unternehmen wichtige Anknüpfungspunkte in die aufstrebenden Märkte Afrikas. Für die Nachwuchsmanager können sich im Anschluss an „AFRIKA KOMMT!“ vielversprechende Kooperationsmöglichkeiten mit den Partnerfirmen in ihren Heimatländern ergeben.

Außenwirtschaftsförderung: NRW und China

Seit 30 Jahren bringen wir im Auftrag der nordrhein-westfälischen Landesregierung und chinesischer Provinzregierungen Unternehmen aus NRW und China an einen Tisch. Flankiert wird der Austausch unter anderem durch Studienreisen für Fachkräfte und Delegationsreisen hochrangiger Entscheidungsträger aus beiden Ländern. Durch unsere Alumni-Arbeit bleiben die Teilnehmer in Verbindung mit den Partnern und bilden langfristige Kooperationsnetzwerke.

Weiterbildungsmarkt Deutschland: Becas Chile

Im Auftrag des chilenischen Bildungsministeriums führen wir das Programm „Becas Chile“ durch. Ziel ist es, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Wirtschaft und die berufliche Bildung in Chile zu fördern. Ein Jahr lang werden chilenische Fachkräfte im dualen Berufsbildungssystem in deutschen Bildungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen weiterqualifiziert. Fachliche Schwerpunkte sind Chiles Zukunftsbranchen Bergbau, erneuerbare Energien, Informationstechnologie und Tourismus. Die deutschen Partnerunternehmen knüpfen ihrerseits wertvolle Kontakte in das südamerikanische Land.

Broschüre und Flyer zum Download

Flyer: Die GIZ in NRW
Gesellschaft bewegen. Zukunft gestalten. Für, mit und in NRW.

Broschüre: WACEE – West African Clean Energy & Environment Exhibition & Conference
Potentiale für nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung
Ghana und Nordrhein-Westfalen: Partner für Nachhaltigkeit